• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Peachy keen

taming huge draw command counts

This topic is 4551 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Okay, as many of you know, i'm just learning d3d as a graphics api,and i'm finding in certain situations, my draw command count is just getting out of control. I understand that i can't render the whole screen in one call :P, but it seems like so many things will require their own call, and it's just starting to really feel like the call count is going crazy. It would be really silly if a 2d game of mine lagged on my modern machine, and i've heard i've got about 300ish graphic calls per frame to work with. So here are some of my situations, if anyone can give me a lil advice on how to squeeze these calls down in the most optimized way, I'd really appreciate it. A: Particle systems. Obviously I have to squeeze at least one emitter into each call to draw a particle system, but with each thing moving seperately, it doesn't seem possible to just leave it up to the matrix transform to do the heavy lifting. Dynamic vertex buffers? are these practical to use [i hear they are slower, but 'slower' is a very loose term]. I could just update the position by hand in that case, instead of leaving it up to the matrix, and just focus the matrix at the origin of the emitter. B: LOTS OF LITTLE, MOTIONLESS THINGS! Shell casings, bullet holes in the walls, burn marks on the ground, blood trails, overturned rocks on the ground and blown out electrical components. General environmental damage! This stuff was a breeze in 2d, just blit it all together and store it, reuse it each frame [as soon as a bullet casing comes to rest, just draw it onto the ground, and leave it there, keeping track of it's position so i can redraw it when it re-enters view]. But it seems like i can't draw all these little things as bunche