• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Shadows by vertex

This topic is 4372 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I have an object composed by different meshes with different textures. I want to calculate the shadows and store the values in each vertex to generate the rendering in good quality. My question is, is there any way to calculate the values by code, and not with a 3d modeler? I know that to calculate the shadows I need to define lights. I've been looking for an algorithm that makes the calculation. I found some routines that I didn't test, but I think the routines dont calculate when there is an object in fron of another. Well, I tried to be clear with my explanation, but maybe I don't use the right words to define what I'm looking for because I'm new to 3d programming. If anybody can point me to the solution, I will appreciate. Thanks warpjavier

Advertisement
Are you looking for something relatively simple, i.e per-vertex lighting calculations with occlusion for a mesh that will remain static? Or something more advanced, like for dynamic objects?

Hi,
Thanks for you prompt reply.
Yes, I'm looking for something simple for static objects, to be more specific for a soccer stadium. Could have just one light representing the sun for the day time or more than one for the night time. I would like to see the shadows generated in the tribune by the roof.

Thanks

warpjavier

Quote:
Original post by warpjavier
Hi,
Thanks for you prompt reply.
Yes, I'm looking for something simple for static objects, to be more specific for a soccer stadium. Could have just one light representing the sun for the day time or more than one for the night time. I would like to see the shadows generated in the tribune by the roof.