• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

i need help, real noob here

This topic is 4273 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

is gamedev a real program. If so where can i get it? I need a game programming program

Advertisement
You should clarify whether you are looking to learn how to program or if you just want a sort of game making program that you point and click things.

Is a website that has a game maker that allows you to make games without any lines of code apparently, I however have not used it.
http://www.gamemaker.nl/

Or if you are looking to learn to program you're going to need to pick a language and find a compiler. This site has some good articles for beginners that you could check out for deciding a language.

And also there are several threads on the forum with this topic, you could try using the search feature which is located on the top right of the forum page.

Good luck :)

Gamedev is not a program. There are no programs for making games. (An oversimplification, but it'll do for now.) What you want is a programming language. I suggest you take a look at the forum FAQ, specifically, the first question listed. Or you could google for 'Java developer kit', or 'getting started with Java'.

Quote:
Original post by King of Men
There are no programs for making games.

Sure there are

-AJ

I think I did mention it was an oversimplification. Anyway, I don't think I'd recommend that lot to anyone completely without programming experience.