Sign in to follow this  
Xanas

Mouse movement for control producing irratic results

I know this is me somehow but I'm not sure how. Anyway, I'm a noob and here is what I'm doing. 1) I am "somewhat" using chromium (great little sdl/opengl/openal game) to learn some things. 2) I am trying to follow his code in order to work on a similar little program I'm making (I wouldn't dare to call it a game yet, may never be one). Anyhow, I am trying to use a mouse to control the movement of a little quad I have painted my little ship texture on that I made. It will move, but it always bounces back and I cannot for the life of me figure out why. All of my debugging attempts are making results that don't make sense to me... Here is an example from his code real quickly. Now mine isn't object oriented or anything like that (since I'm just trying to learn how to use the functions procedurally first, not making anything with that level of complexity) but you'll see how I've converted it.
void MainSDL::mouseMotion(SDL_Event *event)
{
	Global	*game = Global::getInstance();
	int xNow;
	int yNow;
	int xDiff;
	int yDiff;
	if(mouseToggle)
	{
		xNow = event->motion.x;
		yNow = event->motion.y;
		if(xNow == xMid && yNow == yMid)
		{
			// ignore
		}
		else
		{
			xDiff =  xNow - xLast;
			yDiff =  yNow - yLast;
			if(xDiff || yDiff)
			{
				game->hero->moveEvent(xDiff, yDiff);
				SDL_WarpMouse(xMid, yMid);
			}
		}
		xLast = xNow;
		yLast = yNow;
	}
}