Sign in to follow this  
Mae

Beginner says hello and help

Mae    122
Hi, first i would like to introduce myself. My name is Merlyn, people call me Mae, I am Indonesian-Chinese lady living currently in Shanghai. Right now i am studying 3D animation in the local university (Jiao Tong University). My instructors use Chinese as their instruction language. And my Chinese is bad. So i try as hard as i could to understand or just figure it out by myself. Now is my 3rd week of study and we are using Maya and Flash and Photoshop at the moment. The subject changes from time to time to more advanced ones. We also draw with hand, to understand the human body structure and color and so on. My background, I cannot say anything else except I cannot live without games. I have been playing computer game since i was 9 years old until now (25), and i also draw Japan Manga on my own since i was 9.I just love all of this and i put my life in it. I really want to be a Game Designer. I have great passion for computer games. Before my 3D animation course started, i can play up to 10 hours a day.I play PS 2 too, but not as often as computer games. The genre that i play are : adventure (mastered), RPG, MMORPG, and simulation. I really hope somebody can lead me to the right direction, what should i do to become a game designer? Does mastering Maya, 3D Max, Flash and Photoshop without knowing any C++ is enough? Is the ability to draw Manga will be of any help? The 3D animation major i took is going to be 1 year only. Is that enough? I always thought that technical is not so important, but the talent, ideas and creativity is the one that makes me one step further than my classmates. Am i wrong? I am sorry if my english is not so perfect, and thank you for the replies. :D [Edited by - Mae on May 19, 2006 7:13:28 AM]

yaustar    1022