• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Hydrael

OpenGL Questions regarding D3DXLoadMeshFromX and LPD3DXMESH

This topic is 4443 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone, I normally belong the the OpenGL faction (but please don't hunt me out of this forum anyway ;) ), but now certain circumstances require me to parse DirectX .X files. Because I don't really feel like writing a parser myself, I thought of using D3DXLoadMeshFromX to do the dirty work for me. I'm an absolute beginner regarding DX programming, so i looked at some tutorials and tried to help myself using Visual Studio's Intellisense. I've already setup the DirectX programming environment, and I can successfully load .X files using D3DXLoadMeshFromX. I've already found out, how to extract vertices from the loaded mesh, and materials/texture names from the material list What I'm missing now is: - how do I extract texcoords and normals? I just can't find any Methods or Attributes that would return one of the two. And another thing: Is it possible, to use D3DXLoadMeshFromX without creating a D3DDevice (and everything that comes with it, like CreateWindow(), etc)? I only need to get the .X file into memory and then analyze its contents. Thanks for any help in advance Regards Chris

Advertisement
The texcoords and normals are a part of the vertex format in DX. Each vertex has it's own set of texcoords and a normal, as well as a position and possibly a color. When you extract the vertices from the vertex buffer, this includes the normal and texcoords in the data structure.

You didn't mention about locking the index buffer, I just want to make sure you're aware you need to get the indices from the index buffer. These let you turn the array of vertices into faces, if you need that info as well.