Sign in to follow this  

[HLSL] Passing through vertex data

This topic is 4224 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm quite new to vertex shaders and so on, so forgive me if this is a stupid question. I'm trying to write a cel-shading vertex shader that modulates a cel-shading texture in texture unit 1 with an optional mesh texture in texture unit 0. The problem I have is with that word "optional" -- I haven't really understood/worked out how you cope with the fact that some meshes will have tex0 co-ordinates and some won't. Currently my vertex shader looks like this:
struct VS_INPUT
{
    float4 vPosition        : POSITION;
    float3 vNormal          : NORMAL;    
};

struct VS_OUTPUT
{
    float4 vPosition    : POSITION;
    float3 vDiffuse     : COLOR0;    
    float2 fTex1	: TEXCOORD1;
};

// Declare the required matrices with the appropriate semantics
//   so that the viewer can supply the necessary matrix information.
const float4x4 mWorldViewProj;

const float4 vLightDir;		// Light direction
const float4 vMatDiff;		// Material's diffuse component

//----------------------------------------------------------------------------
// Shader body 
//----------------------------------------------------------------------------
VS_OUTPUT main(const VS_INPUT v)
{
	VS_OUTPUT Output;

// Project position
	Output.vPosition = mul(mWorldViewProj, v.vPosition);  

// Do lighting calculation (Light.w = 0 for directional light, 1 for positional light)
    float fColor1 = dot(v.vNormal.xyz, normalize(vLightDir.w * v.vPosition.xyz - vLightDir.xyz));

// Final color   
    Output.fTex1    = float2(fColor1, 0.5);
    Output.vDiffuse = vMatDiff;

return Output;
}