Sign in to follow this  
Mathius20

C++ & Compiler question

Hey, I had a few questions about classes and memory. First of all, im very very new to oop, and im getting better, but im having problems with something. I am working on an animation system for my tile engine, and I am having problems with memory. I always end up creating a global pointer in the file im going to use the animation in, then in my init function, doing a new Blah(), but then since I have other classes that need to use this same copy, i end up having to use externs all over the place. So my question is what is the best way to have one copy of a pointer that you can use in multiple files(and obviously have it initialized). My other question is is there a way in 2005 .net to find the line where an error is occuring if you have the hex for it?(0x00397000 for example, Im having an access error) I dont know how to debug at all, and id like to learn how to watch variables etc. Thanks for any help. Edit:Found the line thats crashing. Its when I call m_pAnimationSprite->Begin(D3DXSPRITE_ALPHABLEND); within a function, but the thing is I have the same code that gets called for my tiles and it works fine, so I dunno what could be wrong, and since I cant debug it makes it really hard to find out whats wrong^_^ [Edited by - Mathius20 on May 22, 2006 3:36:01 AM]

Not sure if this is what you need for your first question, but you should look at the Singleton pattern. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singleton_pattern
Otherwise you should try to redesign your code so you avoid having global pointers.

In your debug window look at the "watch window" and check the value of "m_pAnimationSprite". It could be because that is a garbage pointer. Make sure the sprite interface is initialized and valid.