Sign in to follow this  
AcePilot

Game engine design

Hello, I have a question about the game engine I am currently designing. A few weeks ago when I had the idea of creating a game engine, I just thought to myself "I want a 3D renderer, a physics engine, network support, and a sound system in my engine". I started coding, but then the design got quite messy and I was only working on the renderer and the physics engine at this time. The engine had no apparent structure or design so I stopped working on it (I guess that is what you get when you start coding without planning properly). Then I restarted my engine project, this time designing it in UML first. That is where I am right now. Currently this is my design: Design I have organized my engine into subsystems, which are responsible for different tasks. Anyhow, my question is that is it necessary to list every single function in the engine to properly "plan" the engine? Or can you just do the following along with a requirements/features list? Design Any help is appreciated. P.S. There are some errors in the UML designs but nothing major...

It looks like a good start, though I am a little confused on the connection between MatrixOperations and GraphicEntity. Is that inheritence? Then I am really confused, as I don't that should be the case. In any case, I suggest you use some preexisting libraries for the math.

Also, this subject has already been discussed quite much on these forums (no, it's true!). Googling for game engine design site:gamedev.net will provide some of the threads. It's definitely worth looking through a bunch of those.

OMGBBQ~!one This is my 1337th post!

I think the graphicsEntity should represent an entity in the world,
having a model, textures and maybe even an animation.
You will probably want to derive more detailed graphicsEntities
from this interface class.

However other responsibilities, like creating, managing and destroying