Sign in to follow this  

DS Homebrew - Visual Studio & Makefiles

This topic is 4222 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm just starting out with DS homebrew and I'm having problems configuring my project/environment correctly. I've installed devkitPro, make etc.. and can get all the example programs built fine, as well as the tutorial projects from Chris (http://www.double.co.nz/nintendo_ds/index.html). I'm hitting a total brick wall when it comes to setting up my own however. I tried using Programmers Notepad as was suggested but I don't feel comfortable coding in that, being used to Visual Studio. I know Visual Studio has support for makefile projects but this is an area I've never had to explore - the dark magic of makefiles. Every time I try to read up on them it just depresses me.. the syntax, the complications! There must be an easier way. What do you guys recommend?

yeah, create a new (makefile) project in VC++, then set up the "build command line" to call make. I assume the DS devkit uses some gcc variant (ie, it won't be using the VC++ compiler, just the IDE)? in which case you'll need to include the full path to make (VC++ uses nmake, probably pointless to use it tbh), and possibly use the -f flag to specify the makefile to build. Of course, having said that, someone might know an easier way....

/edit

yeah, it is using gcc. Makefiles are pretty easy, the following should get you started. Normally you get a load more stuff to link and specify via the command line, but they normally follow the same patern... (I believe nmake will work the same way, but it has some differences with the gnu make version). You should be able to get nmake to call gcc though...

(!! USE A SINGLE TAB INDENT, SPACES WILL NOT WORK !!)

#####################################################################
# a simple makefile