OpenGL camera control

Started by
2 comments, last by Paddon 17 years, 11 months ago
I am new to graphics programming and have been using OpenGL and the GLUT library to fufil my needs. I have run into a problem however when tryin to orient my camera such that a crsytal lattice can be seen properly. What I am trying to do is read in points and plot them as spheres (using glut) in 3-D space for a visualization of particles for my physics research. Reading in points and displaying the spheres was no problem (mind you I am new to openGL programming) but I can't seem to set my camera up properly no matter how much I fiddle with it. Heres the case, I am plotting an fcc crystal which is contained in a 6x6x18 box, the bottom left corner of said box being located at the origin. I want to be able to get a good view of this box. I have read various tutorials on camera control in OpenGL and in GLUT and have tried both gluLookAt(); and just translating and rotating; so I am not sure if its just my 3-D math or my understanding of the functions that is off but for some reason I am always zoomed in too far, or can't see anything, the camera never seems to be oriented where I expect. Here is my most recent display function, I was under the assumption that this would locate my camera at (10,10,0) and point it towards the origin. Now I know for a fact everything gets drawn, and drawn correctly because from the various angles I have experimented with (none which give me close to what I want) the crystal structure looks correctly ordered. I was hoping someone could maybe provide a solution or even a good tutorial on camera control which could help me understand how to orient things in openGL. (I have tried nehe.gamedev, along with many others)

void display(void)
{    

//****** SET THE SYSTEM UP TO BE A 6X6X18 BOX ********************************//     
     glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
     glOrtho(0.0,6.0,0.0,6.0,0.0,25.0);