• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

possible fundamental error

This topic is 5911 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hey folks - im a relative newbie to c/c++/games programming/dx, but been doing Ada for a year at first year uni so i am comfortable with programming principles. I''m creating the base logic system for an rpg, and have a problem with the code... I''ve got classes representing monsters, weapons, armour, and the processes involved in a fight between 2 monsters (the player and another monster - atm, the player is treated as a monster) class cFight { public: static float BattlePartResult; //static, so it can be used in the calling statement inline float fWeaponToWeaponScore(cMonster mAttacker, cMonster mDefender) { BattlePartResult = ( (mAttacker.mAttackRating + rand()%6) - (mDefender.mAttackRating + rand()%6) ); //check whether the players attack has //gotten thru weapon defence return BattlePartResult; } //basically this makes gets the attack rating,adds a random //number from 1-6, and compares it to the enemies attack //rating - this is to simulate the parry and 3 other functions similar to this one in that class, used to resolve combat by being called as follows if ( cFight::fWeaponToWeaponScore(mHuman, mOrc) > 0) //if the //attacker got through enemies weapon //then { if (cFight::fWeaponToDefenceScore(mHuman, mOrc) > 0) //if //the weapon and strength of the //attacker was enough to wound the //target { //again, target is only checked for damage if the //target''s weapon and defence are defeated cFight::fDamageDealt(mHuman, mOrc); //damage dealt by //Human on Orc } } Can anyone spot the error here - if more info is needed just say, as i need this problem solved asap, so i can be sure I''m doing the right thing Peasant:>"Help Help Im being repressed!" King Arthur