Sign in to follow this  

q: helpful hints for starting game programming career.

This topic is 4249 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'd like to find a job from game programming, but I don't know how to start. I don't care about anything big, just some programming job where I don't need to think much and where I could use my existing knowledge about computer programming. It could be even something I wouldn't supposely need to like about. I've been working&studying around computer programming for almost ten years for now. Being myself 18 years, thought nowadays more biased to study and research around computer science. I'm impatient and lazy. My biggest interests are in lisp programming and programming with multiple programming paradigms in one language. I've basic knowledge about computer hardware and how it works. Myself I'm thinking I'm a good candinate in becoming virtuosity in computer programming and -science. Do you know how would I possibly get my first game programming job and therefore start my career around these things?

I don't know myself, but I've heard other, more experienced members say that unless you know someone really high up, you won't get anywhere without a degree.

Degree++

You'd need an amazing folio to enter the industry at anything above QA without a degree. And since you consider yourself a candinate at becomming very proficient, it seems like university is an ideal idea for you. What with being 18 and all.

However, I'm fairly sure not much Lisp gets used in computer games. Oh, I'm sure someone will have an example somewhere, but as a general rule C/C++, some form of scripting language, Java for mobile phones and C# on the rare occasion, are the languages used in the industry. There are more languages used in the "indie" portion of the developers, like Python, VB.Net, and others.