• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Career Prospect Question

This topic is 4254 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi guys, I'm quite new to this videogame industry but it's an industry which I've always dreamt of being involved in. Unfortunately, my parents never accepted the decision of me pursuing a career in this field. Therefore I ended up studying an architecture course instead. But I do not want to dissapoint my parents and I strive to finish my architecture degree course. My real question is this: Can an architecture graduate find a job/career opportunity in the videogame industry? The only limitations I think was probably getting a job as a level designer or something like that. But I don't mind being a level designer, it's definitely a job that I'm up for it. But I would like to know what kind of graphic designing programs that most level designers use. Another question is this: Is it necessary for me to obtain a degree in videogaming of some sort first to get any jobs of this field? This is the one that I worry about the most. I am also capable of composing music games as I had experience in doing sequencing & midi tracking. Though I never had a music degree or diploma as well. Will there be a chance I get to land a job as a music composer in the firm? (I heard most of the composers are freelancers anyway) Your replies will be very very much appreciated. :) -Frus

Advertisement
Oh, just to add some info about myself too. I know a lil bit of programming through Quickbasic & Visual Basic. It's not much, but at least I do know how computer programming works. I've tried my hands on C++ before but it was way too hard for me.

-Frus

Hi,

I am by no means an expert, having only recently joined the industry myself but...