• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Lalle

Windows programming books

This topic is 6382 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, I''ve decided to learn the win32 API. The problem is it''s so overwhelming. So I was wondering if somebody could give me the name of the most suited win32 book for a (almost) complete newbie. I already know C++. I would like a book that starts with the basics of Windows programming, then moves on to DX basics. Lalle

Advertisement
I use ''Programming Windows'' by Charles Petzold. It''s really good althought no DX-basics included.

May be winapi&DX is too much for one book. I suggest you buy another book for DX.

BTW, that''s my question: can anyone recommend book about DX?

"Tricks of the Windows Game Programming Gurus" might be the one for you. In the first few chapters, it gives an overview of basic and advanced Windows programming and then moves onto stuff like GDI, COM and Directx. It even has on CD some online books on Direct3d. It covers Directx 6.1, though, and there''s yet to be a good book and Directx 8. Still, I''m assuming a lot of it still applies to the newer versions-- with a few exceptions. (Microsoft did not update DDraw in Dx8, but the Dx8 SDK does include DDraw 7.0.)

hey i just ordered "Windows Game Programming for Dummies" (Same author as tricks of the gurus book i think). I heard it was really good and it has some great reviews. Check it out at Amazon.com. It also touches up on directX a little too. So it looks like a great book. I just started windows programming and i got really confused for a while.. but a read alot of tutorials and i can now do some basic stuff.