Sign in to follow this  
v0dKA

Avoiding Downcasting

I recently started a text RPG. I have something of a framework done, but it is not working. I find myself needing to downcast, or treat a base object as if it was one of its derived classes. I have an NPC class and I have a Monster class. Monster is a type of NPC, thus it derives from NPC. I also have a global list of all NPCs and their sub-types in a single vector. Here's the problem: the class Monster has a member function Fight(); NPC does not. NPC does, however, have a isMonster() function. Here's what I kind of want to do:
NPC* pNPC;
if( pNPC->isMonster() )
     pNPC->Fight();
As expected, the compiler complains. As I am still an OOP newbie, I would like to redesign my class structure in the most commonly accepted, OOP-standard way without introducing any black magic or sphaghetti code. What should I do?

You have a few options. The first option is to not lose the type information in the first place: create a separate list of monsters that you then loop over when you want them to fight. A second choice is to use dynamic_cast to cast your NPC pointer to a monster pointer. If the pointer is non-null, then you can then call the fight function on the pointer. A third choice is instead to make the call to Fight() as part of a virtual function that the NPC class provides. Ex:

class NPC {
public:
virtual void Update() = 0;
};

class Monster : public NPC {
public:
virtual void Update() {
Fight();
}
private:
void Fight();
};

Each of your derived classes will implement update appropriately and you would call Update() instead of Fight() when you loop over the NPCs.