Sign in to follow this  
Myrtle

D3DLoadMeshHierarchyFromX - null animation controller returned

I'm quite new to directx and am having problems with the D3DLoadMeshHierarchyFromX function. The problem is that it is returning a null animation controller. Everything else works fine and the mesh renders. All i am doing to check the animation controller is: if(m_aminController) which triggers a Msg box, the Msg box is never triggered, does anyone have any idea what my problem could be, i'm very thankful for any ideas or help! I tested it with the tiny.x and the tiny_4anim file also with a number of other files, they all show (with the animation) in the DirectXViewer. Thanks in advance

Post the code for your call to D3DXLoadMeshHierarchyFromX, as well as your code for allocating frames, else there's nothing anyone can do to help you.

I'd suggest putting a breakpoint in the code and stepping over the call, though, rather than trying to put in message boxes. Debuggers are there for a reason.

ok, heres my code for creating frames and the call to the function.

HRESULT CMeshHierarchy::CreateFrame(LPCSTR Name, LPD3DXFRAME *ppNewFrame)
{
*ppNewFrame = NULL;

D3DXFRAME_EXTENDED *newFrame = new D3DXFRAME_EXTENDED;
ZeroMemory(newFrame,sizeof(D3DXFRAME_EXTENDED));

newFrame->Name= NULL;

D3DXMatrixIdentity(&newFrame->TransformationMatrix);
D3DXMatrixIdentity(&newFrame->exCombinedTransformationMatrix);

newFrame->pMeshContainer = NULL;
newFrame->pFrameSibling = NULL;
newFrame->pFrameFirstChild = NULL;

*ppNewFrame = newFrame;

return S_OK;
}

HRESULT cMeshes::LoadXFile(std::string FileName)
{
HRESULT hr;

CMeshHierarchy Alloc;

hr = D3DXLoadMeshHierarchyFromX(FileName.c_str(), D3DXMESH_MANAGED, Dir.getD3DDevice(), &Alloc, NULL, &m_frameRoot, &m_animController);
if(FAILED(hr))
return hr;

if(m_animController)
{
MessageBox(NULL, "animation", "ERROR", MB_OK);
m_numAnimationSets = m_animController->GetNumAnimationSets();
}

if(m_frameRoot)
{