Sign in to follow this  

Question about what to consider when making C++ wrapper classes for Win32

This topic is 4205 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have a question regarding C++ Wrapper classes. I have some experience with C and classes seem kind of odd to me. What things should I consider in order to create a wrapper, say for Win32 GUI code? Everytime I create a class Win32 code seems to not want to compile and complains about WINAPI and other Win32 objects not being defined. Also is it even possible to truly make a wrapper class since Win32 is older than dirt? Thank you in advance for any replies!

Quote:
Also is it even possible to truly make a wrapper class since Win32 is older than dirt?

C is older than the Win32 API. What's your point?

Yes, it is entirely possible to write a wrapper around Win32 API functions. If you are getting errors, its because you are doing something wrong. Possibly missing an #include, not linking with the right libraries, or writing illegal C++ (dispite what you might think, C++ is quite a different language from C).

The other question is, why bother? There are plenty of existing wrappers or, quite frankly, better languages (C# + .NET) for GUI development.

Well no need to be rude or a jerk. I am trying to better understand the methodology behind wrapping a class around the Win32 interface, and what things I need to understand to do it. I don't necessarily want to blindly use a class thats already been created because I am not going to understand why it works if I don't try. I find most tutorials "show you how to do it", they don't explain the "why's" regarding why you do it. To me, the class is very odd considering I have only done coding in languages that are non-OOP based and most C++ books do that lame Critter caretaker program which is just confusing as hell.