Sign in to follow this  
LaserLars

When is it a good time to get into graphics programming?

Hello :) I've been learning C++ for a few months now and it's just amazing :]] So far I've just created console based programs and some basic games. So I was wondering, how much knowledge should you obtain before you start looking into OpenGL or any type of programming that involves graphics? Thanks in advance :)

Once you have the basics of:

-Loops, if tests, etc.
-Arrays(or even better, std::vectors or std::lists)
-Strings(or, std::string)
-Classes(just the simple stuff is necessary)

And file I/O could be good, too, but definately not easy to learn after you've started working on a game.

There's no magic thing that you have to know to do graphics.

I say, go for it!

When you feel you're ready to try.

Graphical programming definately adds a layer of complexity that can make it more difficult to learn the language itself - why you start out with console programming - and it's certainly a good idea to get a firm grasp of the language before jumping into graphics, but it should be a fun and/or interesting task, so if console programs just don't do it for you there isn't really much point in continuing with them; you'll just get frustrated and end up disliking programming.

Do make sure you at least understand your basic flow-control (if/else, for and while looping) and simple datastructures (your basic variables, arrays, structs). If you're using a language that has classes it's probably also worth at least reading about them (ideally experimenting a bit in the console as well) before moving on, and it would also be beneficial to have at least a basic understanding of pointers, as you're very likely to come across them.