Sign in to follow this  
Yalpe

Improve application "cold" load time

Hey, I'm an intern in a corp and I have to figure out how to optimize the boot time of their image generator. I've already reduced it by 75% on a warm boot (ie.: boot the application, close it when its initialized then fire it up again). It seems that windows does a lot of caching in the background because it now takes 10 seconds to fire up under warm boot and still over 30s under cold boot. The real problem comes from how the projet is layed out. There is over 190 projets that compile into dlls. We have to keep them that way because the application is distributed (runs on many cpus). So is there a way to improve DLL load time for cold boots?

I doubt it. As you said, Windows will keep DLLs around in memory after they've been released by other modules, in case they get re-used. There's a registry value called AlwaysUnloadDll or something that you can set to force DLLs to always unload.
The only way I can think of would be to get Windows to touch the DLLs, by writing a program that just loads the DLLs, frees them, then exits.

Of course theres always a load screen, it doesn't speed up load times, but is better than staring at nothing. Just a simple startup window with a progress bar that progresses a step per dll or whatnot. But if you have a lot of DLLs to load, its going to take some time. The only other option, as evil mentioned, is having a second 'quicklaunch' app that loads the DLLs and then unloads them on windows startup. I know OpenOffice has a quicklaunche (and I ~think~ AOL had one too).

Thanks for the fast replies,