Sign in to follow this  
Thors1982

Class problems in a 2d engine

I am creating my first 2d tile engine. And I am trying to keep it very organized. I read "Programming Role Playing Games with DirectX", along with many other things. I was wondering if i should use his Core_graphics class or Core_system class. or I could write my own or not use any. I didn't really like his Core_system that much so im fine with not using that, but I can't seem to write a statemanager that doesn't use a case statement. Mainly cause im not that good with passing functions around. I started by writing my own and changing small things. But seemed like so much of it was just copy and paste. I didn't see a whole lot i wanted to change... so most of it was just copy and pasting which seems pointless to me. I learned a lot when i didn't use any and just wrote the directX code myself. But, im afraid its going to get to hard and to sloppy when i start adding in maps/tile classes to not use a graphics class.

Just a couple of fast thoughts:

• There's nothing wrong with a state manager that uses a switch/case. That's actually a fairly normal way to do it. In many (but not necessarily all!) cases, doing it any other way is overengineering. Do what works and is simple enough to be manageable.

• A good rule of thumb for using other people's code is to copy it by hand. Rather than cut/paste, rewrite each line, and change all the variable, function, and class names as much as you can. (They should still make sense, though.) By adding your own "style" to the code, you have to look at it carefully, which means you probably have to understand a good bit of what's going on.