Sign in to follow this  

[web] Collecting and displaying statistics

This topic is 4200 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a game developer without much experience of web development. I have something I'd like to set up which I think must be a fairly common sort of thing for web developers but I don't really know what the best way to go about it would be. I'd like some advice on the best way to set this up. What I'd like to do is set up an automated system that collects various statistics (performance statistics, memory usage statistics, etc.) from an automated nightly build of a game and posts them to a central server which can display the data in the form of various graphs, charts and tables in a browser. For example, the system could display a graph of how the average, minimum and maximum frame rate for a particular timedemo has varied over the course of several builds, or display a chart of how memory usage has varied in a particular level over time. I don't know much about databases but I'm guessing it might be a good idea to post the data to a database and query the database to generate the web based reports and graphs. Is this something that's fairly easy to do? What software could be used to generate the graphs etc. in a web-viewable format? Here's some things I'd like to be able to do with the system: - Being able to easily get the data into Excel for more detailed analysis would be useful. - Over time as the game is developed it should be easy to add new statistics and reports as new code is added to report on new features. - The system should be fairly easy to set up and maintain, it's probably not worthwhile if it takes a significant amount of work to implement. - We already have licenses for most MS software (Visual Studio, Office, SQL server) so a solution that doesn't require additional software would be nice