Sign in to follow this  

Starting out on my C++ foot

This topic is 4197 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, I'm new to game development and I ordered a book on C++. I have my reasons to start out on C++ (and the book I ordered is great or so says 22 people) But should I really start out with something else first like BASIC?

Just my two cents, Java isnt really any better than C++ for begginners, in fact, the whole "main is a static class member" thing, could even confuse them more. But I second the vote for python, python is quite nice, and I think if nothing else, Cyncro, you should give it a look

cheers
-Dan

Python is what people generally advise here as your "learning language". I started with C and it was fine. Starting with C++ is really not that much different from starting with C so from personal experience it's a fine place to start.

-me

Yeah im going to stick with C++ and learn a second language from there. The book is great. I started out today and I am very happy to announce that I executed a succesful Hello World program!

Quote:
Original post by Cyncro
I have my reasons to start out on C++...

If you have your reasons and think they're good, then just go with C++. I did and I am doing alright. Just be patient (which applies to all languages...) and you'll do fine.

The language you start out with dosen't matter much. You're not going to start out with the hardest parts of C++(or any langauge) as the first thing, So if you've got a good reasone and a book, stick with C++, BASIC won't be that much easier in the begining anyway.

Quote:
Original post by Ademan555