• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Frank_Li

Older Code in VS 2005

This topic is 4352 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm working out of an older book and I'm trying to output a games score on the screen. Some of the old code in this book does not work in VS 2005. I'm new to C++ and windows programing (I like Java so much more) so I'm unsure on how to fix it. I've tried type casting and some older deprecated functions I found in some tutorials (probably too old also) but no luck.
int score = 24;
TCHAR szText[64];
RECT rect = {275,0,325,50};
wsprintf(szText,"%d",score);
DrawText(hDC,szText,-1,&rect,DT_SINGLELINE);

The error I get is: Error 1 error C2664: 'wsprintfW' : cannot convert parameter 2 from 'const char [3]' to 'LPCWSTR' I know it has something to do with unicode but I'm unclear about what's really going on and why it doesn't work. What the hell is LPCWSTR?

Advertisement
Go to your project settings, under general, change character set to use multibyte character set.

Oh, great that was easy! I've already spent an hour looking for a solution!
What did that change do? Now I the project is compatible with ASCII and UNICODE?
Why wasn't this an issue in VS 6.0?