• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Zekeva

Game engines

This topic is 4354 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi. I'm new to the community though I've been lurking for a bit and have read a number of the articles on the website. I am a CS student in New Zealand and I plan to work in the game industry when I complete my masters degree in a couple of years. As a lot of you will know, university gives you a good grounding in both the math and the methologies and thought-processes in CS but it still leaves a lot to the imagination in the specialized fields like game development. So I came to this site and got to reading. Now I'm rambling...so my question is this: I read the enginuity series of tutorials and worked through some of the code. I noted from the outset that these articles were written in 2003. I wanted to know if this is still the general architecture that a generic game engine would still take on. Do the game engines that are being built today have a similar underlying structure? Looking around the place I find the key subsystems are still very much the same but I wanted to get some feedback from those in the know. Cheers.

Advertisement
Enginuity is a good start for any game engine. It covers stuff that will be important to any type of engine, such as logging, kernel/task implementation, and memory management. Of course, for people like me, a lot mor info is required. I recommend looking at existing code bases (like ogre and irrlicht for a rendering engine) and try to see how they put it together. The biggest issue for me when writing an engine is starting with a good design.

Hey Zekeva,