• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
sadface42

Getting a process ID (And using the MSDN)

This topic is 4438 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a student programmer and I always have difficulty in using the MSDN library to find functions that I dont know the name of. I currently am looking for a function (or set of functions) which will give me the ID of a process given it's name (ie. the name that appears in the list of running processes when you press ctrl+alt+del in Windows XP. Note that this is different from the name of the window it's attached to or I might use FindWindow followed by GetWindowThreadProcessId). I was wondering if someone might explain to me how to do this, as well as any tricks that they might know on how to go about finding this sort of information in the future. Thanks!

Advertisement
EnumProcesses
Example: Enumerating All Processes

As for how to locate such functions, the MSDN documentation on the Win32 API and Platform SDK is structured hierarchically. The EnumProcesses API was located under Win32 and COM Development > System Services > DLLs, Processes and Threads > SDK Documentation > DLLs, Processes and Threads > Process Status API (PSAPI) > PSAPI Reference > PSAPI Functions > EnumProcesses. With time you get a feel for where things should be in the API, so just scan those sections.

If you're given a name from the Applications tab in Ctrl-Alt-Del then there is no way to get the process ID. That name could come from various places, including FindWindow(). If you have the exe file name then you can use CreateToolhelp32Snapshot() and then Process32First() and Process32Next().