• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
frankmail007

OpenGL OpenGL Extension

This topic is 4437 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new to OpenGL. I have a simple question regarding with OpenGL Extension. As a common knowledge I know the opengl can only support bitmap's width and heigth in power of 2. It's a very nasty problem. How can I overcome this problem? I know there is a extension called GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two. The question is how I can use it. I'm trying to use Glew to check. Unfortunately it seems it can't be support in my pc. What's wrong with it? Should I install something?

Advertisement
Make sure you have the latest drivers installed for your card (which card do you have btw.?). If you then don't have support for this extension, try ARB_texture_rectangle: It is similar to ARB_NPOT, but without filtering/mipmaps (not sure right now). If this extension is unsupported or you require filtering/mipmaps, you should go with the glu*-functions (gluBuildMipmaps2D() especially). This function will take your texture data and fit it into a POT texture, so you can use filtering and mipmapping easily. The remaining space is filled zero bytes, so it is wasted. You may want to take care of this.

Actually you graphics-adapter might not support non-power-of-two textures, only newer ones do so. Depending on how old your drivers for your graphics-adapter are these might not have support for non-power-of-two textures too.

So first thing you should do is update your drivers.

Then please check for the following extensions (just test with GLEW) :
- GL_NV_texture_rectangle
- GL_ARB_texture_rectangle
- GL_EXT_texture_rectangle

Everyone of these indicates that your graphics-adapter supports non-power-of-two textures. If your graphics-adapter supports none of these you'll have to get a new one :-(