• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

[java] J2ME Game for the PC and a question

This topic is 4343 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I made an installer for a simple J2ME game I made a few years ago. The game is 40k while the emulator and installer are 2MB. http://www.ww275.com/MiniSpaceWars-.1-Setup.exe It requires a JVM. I tested it with 1.5.0_06. It should run with > 1.3, but I have not tested it. I have made three complete games in my life: - Small arcade game in C using openGL in highschool - Large C++ game called Mortification (> 30k LOC) for a Game Development class at UNT where I graduated with my BSCS - MiniSpaceWars in 2003 I have prototyped a few others. I was thinking of making a few more J2ME arcade games and updating MiniSpaceWars for the emulator and add them to the installer. I'm calling it AllBinaryMobile. I would then add some pay for games that you could download and add to the emulator. Is this a reasonable way to make some money from my software development skills since I can't get a software development job? Or should I continue to develop my E-Commerce and Store Builder program (> 100k LOC): http://www.allbinary.com/Freeblisket.jsp and http://www.allbinary.com/Weblisket.jsp I was also thinking about developing a bot to level up characters in games since I saw people bidding a bunch of money on ebay for that. I don't really want to do that, but it looks like I could make $. I guess in general I am trying to find a way to make money since software jobs are impossible for me to get.

Advertisement
I find the mobile gaming very promising, specially for Java developers using 3D bindings from different vendors, such as Sony Ericsson or Nokia. I advise you to take a look at their SDKs to see how powerful they are. You could simply develop and publish the games via OTA.