• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
XVincentX

Writing an engine: where to start?

This topic is 4437 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Good morning to everyone. I'm not a complete beginners, i use DirectX since a year, and then i have got some knowledges about vertex and index buffers, shaders (bump mapping, phong, lambertian, blur, depth of field),Matrix, loading and render .x meshes, using Render Targets (but only via D3DXRenderToSurface), light via fixed pipeline (D3DLIGHT9) and some other things. Now i'd like to write a little framework but i do not know where to start. For first thing, how can a class know what render and what not? A my friend said me to use a generic class and insert into device with a list (std::list<CGeneric> RenderObjects; for examples) but it's too many complex. If an object have to be rendered with a shader, and another not? I do not know how to start And another thing: i do not know how Matrix works. I know what they are and how to mul them, but i do not know the relationship between Matrix and object space. I'm tired to use everytime D3DXMatrix functions to build a camera and move objcets, i want to understand. Are there ?Books, links, tutorial and other for me? If there is someone (italian also) that want to help me via msn, contact me at darkfrenesy@yahoo.it

Advertisement
Look at other engines/frameworks. Let their designs inspire yours. There are a number of open source engines, or other engines that provide source at reasonable/no cost.

Could you suggest me some engine or other little works to study for understand?
Please do not see me Ogre becouse it's impossibile.
And for other questions about matrix?