what is an engine/api?

Started by
10 comments, last by devalgo 17 years, 10 months ago
Hi, Complete newbie here to game programming. I just want to clarify on what certain things mean. What is the difference between an Engine (eg Irrlicht) and an API? Also, is SDL an engine? If I was to create a game, using SDL, would I have to create my own 'engine' or can I just use the commands from SDL/C++? Thank you in advance.
Advertisement
http://gpwiki.org/index.php/Beginner_FAQ
Whoops, sorry I missed that. I went to "For beginners" in the resources tab, but didn't see anything about engines so I posted. My bad. However, I still don't understand it.

"A game engine does a lot more than just a library. It might even use many libraries itself."

Why is a game engine a lot more than just a library? What does it actually do? Surely it's coded using seperate classes and such, and as a result is ultimately a (large) library brought together?

I think I get what an API is. It basically has instructions for tasks (such as drawing windows, graphical effects etc..) which are called via libraries such as SDL/Allegro. Is that correct, or have I missed something?

Thanks for the help.

A library is a collection of functionality (hopefully) designed to fulfil a certain purpose or set of purposes.

An "engine" is a kind of library, usually one that provides "core" (i.e., important) driving features or functionality -- just like the engine of a car.

API means something along the lines of "application programming interface." As the last word suggests, an API is an interface (to a library).
An engine holds most of the content for your game together. It holds the audio and graphics together and glues them together to make the final game. I would suggest the link that was posted earlier. Good luck.