• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
blaze02

Dynamic printf

This topic is 4466 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

#include <stdio.h>
int main()
{
	char printfformatstring[128];
	sprintf_s(printfformatstring, 128, "\\n");
	printf(printfformatstring);
	return 0;
}
Why does this not printf a newline? Instead, it prints '\' and 'n'. This technique for changing the the format specification string works fine for variables (using "%%" to generate a '%'). But the idea fails when I try to use "\\" to generate '\'. When debugging it is clear to see that the printfformatstring passed to printf is "\n". I have moved from dynamic bump mapping to trying to dynamicate printf and fprintf. It seems appropriate to put this in the beginner forum. And forget about the "no flaming" rule. I'm not a beginner, flame away (just don't flame my favorite word "dynamicate").

Advertisement
Ahh, I see why it happens.
I forget that the newline character is a single character. Thus, it can't be generated by putting a '\' next to a 'n'.

No. the \ character is an escape character in C/C++. To output a backslash, you do '\\'. To output a newline, you do '\n'. If you want a backslash followed by a newline, then you do "\\\n"

Quote:
Original post by jflanglois
No. the \ character is an escape character in C/C++. To output a backslash, you do '\\'. To output a newline, you do '\n'. If you want a backslash followed by a newline, then you do "\\\n"

No what? Everything I said was right.

My guess is that the newline character is not being added to your string, but instead the literal '\n'. This is what your string will have:

printfformatstring[0] == '\';
printfformatstring[1] == 'n';
printfformatstring[2] == NULL;

Whereas this is what you want:

printfformatstring[0] == '\n';
printfformatstring[1] == NULL;