This might be asking alot but...

Started by
4 comments, last by password 17 years, 9 months ago
Would someone be able to tell me the requirements i need to make tetris because on the "How do i make games" article, he said to start with tetris but he didnt describe how.
Advertisement
you can find many tutorials for tetris in many languages
with google, for example:

Java:
http://www.java-tutorial.net/DownloadsEng.html

C++ with DirectX:
http://www.codeproject.com/directx/tetris.asp

VB:
http://www.codeproject.com/useritems/Tetris_2005.asp

C#:
http://www.codeproject.com/csharp/csgatetris.asp

should get you startet ;)
If you don't know how, then you haven't learned enough. How much do you already know? If you're pretty much a complete beginner and you actually want to learn to program, not just make games, then I suggest you to read snk_kid's article on how game programmers are misguided. If you follow some of his advice it will make you understand programming and what you are doing, but if you just want to see a finished Tetris made by you, then it might not be the best way.

Here's what you'll need to learn,
1. Learn to program, here are some books which will help you, choose one of them and just read through it (performing all excercises, experimenting youself, etc.)

How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: Learning with Python (free e-book)
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: Learning with C++ (free e-book). Another edition of the previous book, the Python one is IMO better, but some beginners won't read anything which doesn't use C++. This one is better than many traditional C++ tutorials/books and therefore if you're determined to learn C++ you should start with this one.
Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs (free e-book, and optional video lectures). Uses Scheme (a language in the Lisp family), will not get you quickly started with game programming, but will make you understand programming.