• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Trouble With Global Variables

This topic is 4252 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I have most of my experience with Java and this is my first project in C++. (I've got about two weeks left before my deadline!) I made a mistake when I was designing a game engine for a simple 2D top down shooter. The sprite manager I created does not communicate with the game, so for example if the boss in level one is killed, the game won’t know to switch to level 2 because the sprite manager simply deletes the boss object. If there is a boss pointer in the game class, then oops! I’m going to get around this problem for now with a global variable. For example in “Primani.cpp” (The game’s name is Primani and with the Primani class I handle things like game cycle, game paint, game start, game end, handle keys…etc.) I place the following code at the top of the file.
//"Primani.cpp"

enum Level {LEVEL1,LEVEL2,LEVEL3};
     Level currentLevel = LEVEL1;

Now what I tried doing is modifying the “currentLevel” variable in the boss class. Then the game would know to move to the next level. I naively tried to do this:
//"Boss1.cpp"
extern Level LEVEL2;
extern Level currentLevel;

void Boss1::onCollisionWith(const Sprite* const sp){
	if(sp->getName() == "playerphoton"){
		life -= damageTaken;
		ScoreKeeper::raiseScoreBy(hitBossBonus);
		if(life <= 0){
			currentLevel = LEVEL2;  //Level is changed
			dead = true;
			ScoreKeeper::raiseScoreBy(killBossBonus);
		}
	}
}

But it doesn’t work. I got this from a tutorial I read but it’s not working too well. Could some one lend me a hand? [Edited by - Frank_Li on July 2, 2006 2:42:51 PM]

Advertisement
Define "doesn't work". Does it not compile? Not link? Cause an access violation? Do little bunnies jump out of your screen and eat your cereal?