• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
yan

OpenGL Clear at specific z plane

This topic is 4512 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everybody, I am new to this forum and I would to compliment with all for this forum very rich of useful informations. So, I want to say hello to everybody, First I am sorry for my english level but it is not my native language. I start with a question. I am a newbie on OpenGl programming and I am working on a scientific application that must plot a signal scope in real-time using OpenGl under Linux and Windows. My app is very simple and it is in the first stage of development. Since I need only 2D graphics I use glOrtho() to use orthographic projection. I plot a grid on a z plane (i.e. z = -0.1f) and the signal scope on an another z plane (i.e. z = 0). My question is: since signal scope is update very frequenly while the grid is not, there is a method to clear vertices only at a specific z value? This allows me to do not replot the grid when updating the signal scope, a sort of a fixed background. Thank you in advance for every suggestion and I hope to provide my support in the future when I become stronger in OpenGl. Y.

Advertisement
In short: you can separate display lists for the two depths and draw them separately. Just cease to render the foreground display list to "clear" the foreground. However, rendering the foreground will draw pixels on top of existing background pixels. These background pixels are then lost, and can only be restored by rendering the background again. You can clear all vertices and pixels at a given depth, but you cannot retrieve the background color.