• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Old Speckled Monkey

Some really amateur questions

This topic is 4485 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, I am new to Game Dev, and generally new to programming. I have started to learn some Java, however in the books that I am reading (Java in a Nutshell, and Learning Java), they assume that you know the bases of programming, so they explain the syntax, but without noob programmers in mind. So could it be possible for someone to explain a few things to me, just to get me off with programming. What are: 1. Classes 2. Variables 3. Methods 4. Fields 5. Members 6. Method Parameters 7. Arguments 8. Objects I understand that these are all to do with the structure of the programs and the syntax, I sort of understand these things, however I don't feel that I understand them enough to move onto learning the actual language. I hope that what I am saying is making sense, and that I am not making a complete fool out of myself. Thankyou OSM [Edited by - Old Speckled Monkey on July 6, 2006 4:15:15 PM]

Advertisement
I would try to explain what I could, but I am short on time and that would take a while. In the meantime, just use google :).

I don't understand what you mean by learning all that stuff before learning the actual language. The reason you learn a language is to learn those stuff. You can't learn how to spell before you've learned a language to spell with.

Since you seem to have a book that assume you have some knowledge, here are some random links:
Variables
OOP
Random Beginner Java Tutorial

Hope that helped..

You might also get good help from wikipedia, for example, look here for variables : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Variable#In_computer_programming

I'm just going to reorder the concept you said in order of complexity so you can learn more easily :
1. Variables