• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Programming

This topic is 4329 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am kind of new to programming, I've just completed a course in Visual Basic but I'm in high school and we didn't get too complex. But I was wondering what languages I should be learning if I wanted to make this into a career. Next year I will be taking an AP course in Java but I wanted to know what other languages are commonly used in game development. Also, if you could recommend any books that would be helpful in learning those languages that would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement
Learn x86 assembly :)

Um.. C++ is the de-facto for game programming. I myself use C# but I don't think any professional companies are using C# to write games (yet anyway).

Quote:
Original post by Dreq
I myself use C# but I don't think any professional companies are using C# to write games (yet anyway).

My understanding is that C# is gaining ground, and that is being used somewhat widely for making tools for professional projects.

If you want to make this into a career, C++ is most likely the better choice. Not necessarily as the first language though. C++ is also the industry standard.

Some languages i've seen people been using a lot:
Java
Python
C/C++
C#
Blitz Basic

Probably forgot some languages, but that's some of the common ones people use to mention.

x86 assembly is basically human readable machine code.. does this kind of code look famailiar:

push ax
mov ax, [bx]
mov bx, ax
pop ax