• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Thors1982

Advice on what to add to my game/Where to go

This topic is 4428 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a newb... Have only been doing DirectX/Game programming for about a month. I am however, proficient in C++. Anyways, My game currently again only been about a month 1: isometric game + smooth scrolling 2: multiple layers 3: animated movement 4: impassable objects as well as objects that can be walked on *If you would like to download it to see what I have http://www.nstark.com/Thor/Thor.zip Just wondering what would be the easiest/best to add next, I didn't think I would get this far in a month so im really excited. But kinda confused as to where i should go next. Any links for the ideas would be appreciated but not necessary :-) Thanks a lot for the help I would have never gotten this far without the forums so Thanks.

Advertisement
Content? :p You say you have animated movement, but do you have human-input support? How about AI.. or back up a step.. do you know what you're trying to make in the first place? I guess "the point of the game" would be the logical next ;)

Hehe
yeah, there is human interaction up button up, left button goes left... etc

Well, its going to be an RPG so I have tons to do, I thought about adding creatures next but thought attacking/AI may be too difficult of a step

I probably should have given a example list :-p

Add creatures then attacking (as they stand there aka no AI)
Add creatures and AI movement (no attacking)
Add a menu system, like backpack, armor, skills, etc
Add items I could pick up (would require mouse to tile interaction)
Need some sort of Text interaction, everything from what is this item? What is this NPC saying?