• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
bradbobak

template in template strangeness

This topic is 4338 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, can someone explain to me the following:
template <class T>
class list
{
  public:
    T t;
};
template <class T>
class item
{
  public:
    list<T> *ptr;
};
template <class T>
class inherit : public item<T>
{
  public:
    inherit()
    {
      ptr = 0;
    }
};

int main(int, char **)
{
  inherit<int> i;
}
Now this won't compile in gcc 4, but if I change the 'ptr = 0;' to 'this->ptr = 0;' it does compile.. Can someone explain this to me??

Advertisement
I think this particular feature of the c++ standard that you have run into is called ”two phase name lookup”.
I am not really good at explaining things but surely someone else (or google) can give a good explanation of exactly what’s happening.

[Edited by - M2 on July 7, 2006 8:57:10 AM]

Guest Anonymous Poster
just a quick note. msvc++ 2005 compiles this snippet just fine. btw, i don't really see why it shouldn't...

Quote:
Original post by Anonymous Poster
just a quick note. msvc++ 2005 compiles this snippet just fine. btw, i don't really see why it shouldn't...

It shouldn't compile (and I'm a little surprised it does in VS2005) because you could then do something like this:

EDIT: Actually, maybe it should.....the default is to treat a dependant name as a variable, which is the usage in this case.

template<>
class item<int>
{
public:
typedef list<int>* ptr;
};

Lookup 'dependant names'.

Quote:
template <class T>
class inherit : public item<T>
{
public:
inherit()
{
ptr = 0;
}
};

Suppose the compiler where to try to parse the above code before you created it and passed it a type T.