• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
nysb

OpenGL How to turn triangles from isosurface into smooth surfaces?

This topic is 4420 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I have been able to generate triangles from an isosurface algorithm, and the triangles can be displayed correctly, with color filled inside each triangle. The problem is that I don't know how to turn the triangles into a smooth surface, for example, like the shapes of a human head. Can somebody tell me what I need to do to achieve that? Thanks a lot. BTW, I am pretty new to 3D programming and I just ported the isosurface algo, and I am using OpenGL. Thanks. PS. If you go to http://nysb.photosite.com/, you will see what I currently have. Thanks a lot. [Edited by - nysb on July 7, 2006 10:21:30 AM]

Advertisement
So you have a surface consisting of triangles and want to smooth it ?

Search for loop algorithm, butterfly algorithm or subdivision surfaces.

I don't even need to really smooth it, instead, I just need to make it look like a continuous surface. Right now, in the display, I can see each triangles with the correct color filled in, but that is not supposed to happen since a smooth surface should be generated from those triangles somehow, but how? Thanks.

PS. If you go to http://nysb.photosite.com/, you will see what I currently have. Thanks a lot.

Quote:
Original post by nmi
So you have a surface consisting of triangles and want to smooth it ?

Search for loop algorithm, butterfly algorithm or subdivision surfaces.

You might download VTK to avoid rewriting a lot of common algorithms. Just learn the basic pipeline interface and wrap what you need in some classes.

Can you tell me what common algo, say, the name in VTK, would be needed to achieve this? I am just so lost that I don't even know what to look for. Thanks.

Quote:
Original post by slack