• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Drawing Indexed Meshes w/ Vertex Shaders

This topic is 4248 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So, I'm a little new to Vertex Shaders, and there is one bit hanging me up right now. Every example I can find on drawing indexed meshes with vertex shaders shows them being drawn by DrawIndexedPrimitive, not DrawSubset. Why? Apprently I need to create a vertex buffer for SetStream to point to, but why can't I use DrawSubset after that? Also, can I use ppmesh->GetVertexBuffer as opposed to CreateVertexBuffer to get my vertex buffer pointer for SetStream? An example I found copies the verticies from ppmesh->GetVertexBuffer to a pointer created by CreateVertexBuffer and then hands this pointer to SetStream, but I'm not sure why it doesn't just hand the pointer from GetVertexBuffer. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Advertisement
Draw subset internally calls DrawIndexedPrimitive, and SetStreamSource.

The reason most Vertex Shader samples use a vertex + index buffer for drawing instead of a mesh, is that this gives you closer control over the vertex format.

A Mesh doesn't have a hardcoded format, which means if you load one .x file, it might have normals but not texcoords, and another might have texcoords but no normals. Now, a vertex shader relies greatly on which information it is given. If some of it is missing in the .x file, the shader won't draw properly.

For your own use, you can freely use DrawSubset with a mesh, assuming you know the vertex format fits that expected in the vertex shader. The fact you're using shaders doesn't matter when you're passing the GPU information to draw, it only affects how it draws it.

Hope this helps.

Quote:
Draw subset internally calls DrawIndexedPrimitive, and SetStreamSource