Sign in to follow this  
GunstarGreen

Recent change in C++'s delete/delete [] ?

I'm a programming intern who was fixing memory leaks earlier today. A senior programmer was helping me debug some corruption issues when I noticed he wrote a "delete" line for a void pointer that pointed to an array on the heap. I said, "actually, you should use delete [] there" and he said it didn't matter. My education told me that it most certainly did matter, but he was moving at a mile a minute and I had to pay attention to the next thing he did without asking him about it. And I forgot to ask him about it until now, and now he's not here anymore. ANYWAY. My question is this: has there been some change to delete that makes it interchangeable with delete [] recently? At my college I believe we use the 7.1 compiler to do our work (whatever's the default compiler for 2003 .NET), and the instructors drilled into us how important it was not to mix up delete and delete []. If there wasn't a change, is there some special case implementation for deleting void pointers? (What I thought was best was to cast it to a char pointer and then call delete [] on it). Edit: forgot to mention that the pointer actually points to a block of memory that was memcpy()'d over from a different pointer so as to do a deep copy. Is that relevant? Edit #2: The last "delete" was "delete" and not "delete []". Fixed the brain typo. Thanks in advance.

It's bad style, but on MSVC with arrays of primitive and POD types you can get away with using delete instead of delete []. However it's fragile code which will go wrong if you ever deal with a class type. Of course the fact that you're dealing with a void pointer in the first place is a warning sign in and of itself.