Sign in to follow this  
BenDrummin58

Projectile Math -- Need Help!

I've searched google...I've even searched these forums, and I cannot find solid math that can get this done. The thing is, I'm still a highschool student, and I have not yet learned about SIN and COS and TAN and all that fun stuff.. yet I am still in the process of making my own game :P Anyways, I just need to know how to get a projectile from point A to point B. I have speed, I have where it's coming from, I know where it's going to, I just don't know how to get it there. I know it has something to do with angles and something to do with using trig. Can anybody help out a noob in math?

You can use trig for this, but you don't have to. The unit-length direction vector for the projectile is simply:
direction = normalize(B-A);
If you're not sure what normalize() does, just google 'vector normalization'. Once you have the direction vector, you can update the position of the projectile each frame like this:
position += direction * speed * time_step;
Where time_step is the amount of time that has elapsed since the last frame.

There are other ways to perform the update (such as using a fixed time step and/or decoupling physics and rendering), but the above should get you started.

thanks for this new way of doing it! I have a question though...what is normalize() part of? Is it something I need to create myself, or is it hidden in some include file. I've actually never heard of it before O.O . Google doesn't seem to find a whole lot, other than a thing that computes the vectors..which doesn't really help..lol. So, sorry if I sound a bit noobish :D

'normalize()' is a function that you must supply. It and the syntax (B-A) assume a basic vector math library, which you may not have yet. It's a must have for 2D or 3D game programming of any complexity, so it'd be a good thing to get started on. Meanwhile, here it is longhand:
// A and B are assumed not to be coincident or nearly coincident