Sign in to follow this  
NUCLEAR RABBIT

Visual C++ Express Edition Debugger!

Hello, I've been programming for about 3 months now, and I've been mainly using DevC++. I also have been using Visual C++: Express Edition, and have read a plethora of threads that say wonderful things about its debugger. The problem is, is that I feel like im not in the party with the rest of the crowd. When Im using Visual C++ Express Edition, the debugger, seems to be practically the same as DevC++ (not the same words, but the same message). Im not sure how to configure the debugger so that it is as good as everyone says it is, but can someone please help me figure out how to use the debugger to its fullest? Any Help is greatly appreciated!

If you're using the Express Editions of the software you will find that it will lack a lot of the features that you'll expect from Microsoft's full compilers.

If you want a full-featured compiler you'll have to buy one, like the Standard Edition of Visual Studio.

Really? Name three debugging features that the standard edition has that the express edition doesn't. Don't rush, I'm not going anywhere.

In any case, for the OP, you might want to check out this article on debugging.

Quote:
Original post by SiCrane
Really? Name three debugging features that the standard edition has that the express edition doesn't. Don't rush, I'm not going anywhere.

Thanks for politely pointing that out, SiCrane. I meant 'Professional' onwards.

Quote:
Original post by NUCLEAR RABBIT
...When Im using Visual C++ Express Edition, the debugger, seems to be practically the same as DevC++ (not the same words, but the same message). ...

Are you talking about the debugger or the compiler?

Quote:
Original post by NUCLEAR RABBIT
...Im not sure how to configure the debugger so that it is as good as everyone says it is, but can someone please help me figure out how to use the debugger to its fullest?