Sign in to follow this  
Sean_A_Kelly

Loading Wave Files for OpenAL

Hi all, this is the first time I’ve posted on this forum. I am currently studying Computer Games Technology at University, and have been programming in C/C++ and OpenGL for the past year. Over the year I have been using GLUT and plenty of other extension libraries to cut coding corners. However before I go on my placement year, I am eradicating these libraries in favour of basic coding. So far I have replaced GLUT, the LoadBMP.lib and I am now replacing FMOD. Using OpenAL however means that I have to use ALUT to load in the .wav files, this I am trying to avoid. Googling has resulted in nothing but this Tutorial (that the guy didn't even bother to compile, if it was a tutorial why not?!?). However its proving difficult, I’ve fixed most of the syntax errors, however when I run the program all I get is a white screen and a huge memory leak (despite the fact I the free memory after its loaded into the buffer), please can anyone help! Tutorial "How to a Load Wave File" URL: http://www.gamedev.net/reference/articles/article709.asp My Code Snippet (I have only included this part of my sound class and none of the wave class): //Sound Loader bool sound::Load(char *Filename) { alGenBuffers(1, &Buffer); if (alGetError() != AL_NO_ERROR) return AL_FALSE; /*alutLoadWAVFile(Filename, &Format, &Data, &Size, &Freq, 0);*/ if (WAV->Load(Filename)) { alBufferData(Buffer,WAV->GetFormat(),WAV->GetData(),WAV->GetSize(), WAV->GetFreq()); } WAV->~wave; }

Do you have really good reason to call deconstructor of wave object explicitly?

I can't vouch for its quality or correctness, but it looks to be a spiffy (set of) tutorial(s): here.

And good luck with your studies. I'm sure you'll have a kickarse time in the game industy. [smile]

VHL
Im not to sure what you mean by wave object explicitly (Although I probably should)?

HopeDagger