• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Dennis sun

About racing game cars place in a competition

This topic is 4403 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello every ,I am a racing game programmer ,and we are working to make an online racing game ,the question is how to judge the cars' places in a competition,we have a way to set some points on the road ,and get the distance between car and the terminal ,but you can run from different way to the same terminal ,how to judge it ? any help will be thankful. I think maybe it can be describe by a tree or a graph ,but can someone give me some advice ? can any guy have another way to resolve the quesiton ? thanks !!!!

Advertisement
I use several 2d line segments that cross the track and distance-to-line checks. These can be very useful.. the obvious use is at the start/finish line but by using at least two others you can prevent cheating by making sure the player crosses them in order.

If you use enough line segments your position in the race can be determined by sorting the players according to;

Lap Number
Last line segment passed
Distance from that segment

- Matt

Quote:
Original post by matibee
I use several 2d line segments that cross the track and distance-to-line checks. These can be very useful.. the obvious use is at the start/finish line but by using at least two others you can prevent cheating by making sure the player crosses them in order.

If you use enough line segments your position in the race can be determined by sorting the players according to;

Lap Number
Last line segment passed
Distance from that segment

- Matt

thanks Matt........
good luck ,do you have experience of making racing game ?
and if possible can you leave me some way to contact with you ?

best wishes and good luck .

I've played about with driving/racing games in the past -- who hasn't? :)