• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Lolicon

[web] Need some expert advice

This topic is 4495 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, newbie here in need of some advice. I am very fluent in HTML and can design professional-looking sites in just that language. I have always prefered to code only in notepad. Now however, I need to build a site with functionality that html alone cannot provide, namely: - The news section will need to be updated daily, by people who don't know how to edit html. They should just have to provide the story title, the story text istelf, and an image. - The news section should have an RSS feed. The RSS feed should update itself whenever someone updates the news. - Only four news stories should ever be displayed at a time; old stories should automatically be archived whenever someone creates a new one. Exactly what language should I learn to be able to implement this funtionality? Asp.net? PhP? Can it all be done in javascript? The other thing I can do is write a program in VB that just outputs the right html after the user inputs their text and image, but the automatic archiving wouldn't be possible there. What do you guys think? And are there any good tutorials on RSS feeds? Oh and, I don't have my own web server to test on, I don't know if this will limit my options or not. Thanks in advance. [Edited by - Lolicon on July 27, 2006 4:14:28 PM]

Advertisement
I don't have a lot of time to go into lots of details, so I'll be brief:

Quote:
I am very fluent in HTML and can design professional-looking sites in just that language. I have always prefered to code only in notepad. Now however, I need to build a site with functionality that html alone cannot provide, namely: