• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
huckdogg

DirectInput Crashes Program

This topic is 4402 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I didn't know whether to ask this question in this forum or in the DirectX forum, but I figured this was more of a beginners question, so here we go. I am writing a small DirectX based game that uses Direct Input to handle the the mouse and keyboard. My problem is that when I try to run the game, I get a standard Windows crash dialog box and the program exits. I have narrowed the problem down to one line in my mouse initialization function, but as I am new to using Direct Input, I do not know why this particular line of code would be making my game crash. Here is the function: LPDIRECTINPUT8 dinput; LPDIRECTINPUTDEVICE8 dimouse; LPDIRECTINPUTDEVICE8 dikeyboard; DIMOUSESTATE mouse_state; //keyboard input char keys[256]; int Init_Mouse(HWND hWnd) { //set the data format for mouse input //this is the line causing the crash HRESULT result = dimouse->SetDataFormat(&c_dfDIMouse); if (result != DI_OK) return 0; //Added the next line to see where the program was crashing MessageBox(hWnd, "Error", "Error", MB_OK); //set the cooperative level //this will also hide the mouse pointer result = dimouse->SetCooperativeLevel(hWnd, DISCL_NONEXCLUSIVE | DISCL_FOREGROUND); if (result != DI_OK) return 0; //acquire the mouse result = dimouse->Acquire(); if (result != DI_OK) return 0; //clean return return 1; } Here is the function call: //initialize the mouse if (!Init_Mouse(hWnd)) { MessageBox(hWnd, "Error initializing the mouse", "Error", MB_OK); return 0; } The line causing the problem: HRESULT result = dimouse->SetDataFormat(&c_dfDIMouse); What about this line of code would cause a crash each and every time that I run the game? This is code that I got directly from some examples that I was using to learn Direc