• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Do I need to learn the Standard C++ Library???

This topic is 4220 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

HI I'm a beginner C++ programmer and have experience in C#/VB.net and am wondering do I really need to learn the STL? or the C standard library or can I just get on with learning Win32?

Advertisement
Guest Anonymous Poster
you should learn a good part of it yes. however, there are some less important things that you don't need to know... like how many of us have ever used a valarray?

well of course. :) you should learn as much as you can. stl is far from perfect though so don't get too attached. when you work professionally you're less likely to use it but still having a good understanding will keep you from sounding like an idiot when you talk to your lame friends who develop non game stuff. ;)

For just Win32, maybe you can get by without it. But try to learn a little of it anyway. So far I've only used vectors, and they have gotten me out of many sticky situations. I certainly don't regret it.
(Also, I hear learning/using Boost is beneficial as well; I may look into that soon)

Quote:
Original post by adjustedrace
HI I'm a beginner C++ programmer

Welcome!

Quote:
and have experience in C#/VB.net

That's a good start. [smile]

Quote:
and am wondering do I really need to learn the STL?

Yes, undeoubtedly.

Quote:
or the C standard library

That too, though it's not as urgent.

Quote:
or can I just get on with learning Win32?

You might, but you're severely limiting your options.

Quote:
Original post by blackpawn