Do I need to learn the Standard C++ Library???

Started by
40 comments, last by torakka 17 years, 8 months ago
HI I'm a beginner C++ programmer and have experience in C#/VB.net and am wondering do I really need to learn the STL? or the C standard library or can I just get on with learning Win32?
Advertisement
you should learn a good part of it yes. however, there are some less important things that you don't need to know... like how many of us have ever used a valarray?
well of course. :) you should learn as much as you can. stl is far from perfect though so don't get too attached. when you work professionally you're less likely to use it but still having a good understanding will keep you from sounding like an idiot when you talk to your lame friends who develop non game stuff. ;)
For just Win32, maybe you can get by without it. But try to learn a little of it anyway. So far I've only used vectors, and they have gotten me out of many sticky situations. I certainly don't regret it.
(Also, I hear learning/using Boost is beneficial as well; I may look into that soon)
____________________________________Spazuh- Because I've had too much coffee
Quote:Original post by adjustedrace
HI I'm a beginner C++ programmer

Welcome!

Quote:and have experience in C#/VB.net

That's a good start. [smile]

Quote:and am wondering do I really need to learn the STL?

Yes, undeoubtedly.

Quote:or the C standard library

That too, though it's not as urgent.

Quote:or can I just get on with learning Win32?

You might, but you're severely limiting your options.
"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." — Brian W. Kernighan
Quote:Original post by blackpawn