• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Dreamcast Asteroids 1.1

This topic is 4293 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Quick post. I've updated my Dreamcast Asteroids clone. It uses the TA to draw graphics now, so everything is smoother and faster. I also improved the sound code. This game is supposed to be a clone very true to the original. Controls: D-Pad: Turn A: Fire RTrigger: Thrust X: Hyperspace Start: Pause Download the file, and burn with Discjuggler. Even the free demo will work! I'm sorry about using Rapidshare. My hosting is gone for the moment. Download here! Some real screenshots! ***WARNING. I used paintedover here so there are slightly NWS ads. Sorry. *** Screenie 1 Screenie 2

Advertisement
Hi,

I am a complete newbie and want to begin programming for DreamCast. I have worked on small PC games with VC++ and DirectX 9.0c. I have found a few links to help me get started but they are really confusing. I was hoping if you could help me out by giving me some links to the basic stuff or anyother way.

Hi newbie_programmer

If you are interested in developing for Dreacast, your best bet is to visit and download Chui's Dreamcast SDL driver

It provides a wrapper which can be used with SDL 1.2.9, which you can downloaded from the main SDL website, which there should be a copy of the old 1.2.9 version in the repository download page. I have to admit, it is self explanatory from installation, to developing a few tutorials for video initialisation, input, etc.

Because of the multiplatform nature, you can develop through Visual C++, as SDL works fine in this IDE. Find the installation guide and setting up SDL in visual C++ on this page.

It provides decent openGL, sound, and input support as it is very easy if you follow chui's website..